More On St. Patrick’s Miracle

Irish Soda Bread

To finish my story, I took that call as a BIG RED BOW! I had spiritual direction the next day with Sr. Maureen McGrath. Spiritual direction is like therapy with an emphasis on the spiritual movements in your life. I told Sister Maureen what happened. For whatever reason, I began to doubt and back track. Though I hadn’t seen Gerry since October I had heard lots about him from other young women. I started mentioning the list of women who wanted to get their hands on him. Sister Maureen stopped me right there. She said, “Michelle, all is fair in love and war. Gerry is at the 11:00 a.m. mass on Sundays and Pause for Prayer on Thursdays at 5:00 p.m.” Clearly, Sister Maureen had seen him! At the time, I also worked for the Young Adult Ministry office for the Archdiocese of Chicago. I had to be there on Thursdays at 6:00 p.m. Too bad. I started going to Pause for Prayer and all dressed up I might add. I would sit near Gerry, but not too close (I think you’d call it stalking today). He was always flanked by young women giving him huge hugs for the Sign of Peace. Not me–I stuck out my hand to shake his all business like then rushed out to get to work. Sundays I did the same. A couple of weeks later, Gerry asked me if I’d received a wrong number call a couple of weeks prior. I responded, “Yes, was that you?” Affirmative! Gerry asked me and the two young women always at his side if any of us wanted to go out for pizza. I agreed. Sorry YAM and Father Cusick now you know. The two women said they too would like to join but needed to stop home first. They never showed and we have been together ever since.

I took Gerry home for Easter about two weeks later. Historically, whenever I brought a guy home from college my mother would take me into the kitchen and ask me, “What are you doing? You are better than that!” Needless to say she hated all those guys. After she met Gerry, she again nodded toward the kitchen. I was thinking–what could she possibly find wrong with him? We got the kitchen and she said, “How does an October wedding sound?” All true!

And now for a healthy but delicious remake of Dan Sinnot’s (a great and funny friend from Chicago whom Gerry was recently reunited with in Ireland) Irish Soda Bread. He says it originated with his Aunt Peg.

Irish Soda Bread
Preheat oven to 350 degreesMonkfruit Sweetener
9 oz organic unbleache unbromated flour
4 oz organic sprouted wheat flour

6 T monk fruit sweetener
1 T baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
Combine and add to the above:
2 eggs slightly beaten
1 3/4 cup buttermilk
2 T melted coconut oil
1 & 1/2 C raisins
Mix until just blended
Bake in a greased loaf pan for 50 minutes-an hour

 

2 thoughts on “More On St. Patrick’s Miracle

Leave a Reply

