How Long You Home For?

I’ve been in Dungarvan for almost a week now and whenever I tell someone that I’m visiting they ask, “How long you home for?”  I love it!  (Though my husband just asked the question of me in a very different tone after he discovered I’d left a tissue in the pocket my jeans before he washed them:). The people here have been incredibly hospitable or “brilliant” as I’ve noted is a common compliment here.  I now know where the Tobin garrulous gene comes from.  You can strike up a conversation with anyone here and have difficulty extricating yourself from it.  I’m not complaining, but am grateful for the discovery.  It’s in the gene pool!

IMG_0843

Tommy Mooney Tour Guide par excellence

Yesterday Gerry and I took a lovely hike along the The Cliff Walk, in Ardmore, home of St. Declan (5th Century monk), with our friend Tommy Mooney who acted as tour guide and local historian.  We visited St. Declan’s Well, which Tommy informed us is never dry even during droughts, and the ruins of St. Declan’s Monastery.
The views were stunning.IMG_0844  I took so many pictures I’m finding it difficult to choose one or two or three to post.   After our walk we were joined for soup and bread at The Cliff House by Tommy’s wife Anne who gifted us with homemade brown bread and fresh eggs, which we enjoyed for this morning’s IMG_0839breakfast.

And as if the day hadn’t been nice enough we were treated to traditional Irish music last evening.  The RTE (Radio Televison Eire) lived taped the band Danu’ during the Celtic Media Festival (that’s two festivals in my one week in Dungarvan mind you).  Before they came on stage we heard from many local traditional Celtic groups, including the aforementioned young band Nuadan from my first day here.

Nuadan

Nuadan

Anne Mooney's Brown Bread

Anne Mooney’s Brown Bread

I spoke to one of the young band of brothers (3 0f 4 of them) and he gave me permission to post a picture.  When I say traditional I mean I didn’t understand a word of the Gaelic that ninety percent of the audience was speaking, but the appeal of the music is universal.  We had a lovely evening with our friends Tom and Carmel Keith whom I’d run into on my first day here and who translated for us.  As the pictures are worth a thousand words I’ll end by saying, I’m home for as long as you’ll have me or 90 days as is the rule.

5 thoughts on “How Long You Home For?

  1. I’m so happy that you’re having such a great experience already! I’ve been enjoying your blog posts too 🙂

    Like

  2. What a brilliant post ! It sounds like Ireland is welcoming and a perfect place to be right now. Beautiful pictures. What a fabulous and savory experience. Enjoy each minute to the fullest ! Does school start on Monday ?

    Like

  3. Thanks Suzanne! We were out late again last night listening to more traditional music. The hammer dulcimer player was in his eighties! Yes I start at Ballymaloe on Monday:) Hope all is well.

    Like

  4. The first time I went to Ireland in Sept. 1981, you and I were Ann Arbor roommates in that crazy upstairs apartment on Mary Street, and working at Cottage Inn. You might remember that I met my mom there, who flew in from Sao Paulo. She and I soon met the Irish-American poet Gibbons Ruark and his wife while tooling around from B&B to B&B. We were delighted when they took us to the kinds of small local pubs you are talking about, and, over time, I’ve stayed in touch with Gib. (Side note: Gib has spent a lot of time “home”–
    he and his wife were dear friends of Seamus and Marie Heaney.) In the past month, seeing your Gerry’s FB posts from Ireland, and then getting an email from Gib, who just got back to North Carolina from another Ireland trip, I was becoming seriously nostalgic. Then I noticed that in the pictures, the weather there seemed similar to our typical April rainforest cool, and newly appreciated our unusual (aka climate change) sunshine this season. Stay warm and dry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

